The final day of the Fight Devotional for those of us doing it a Hope City Chuch is tomorrow. I’ve enjoyed it very much as I have seen much of myself in the character flaws of Samson.

But where do I go from here? As far as I know, Pastor Q hasn’t announced anything yet.

I was scrolling the different reading plans available on the same site that Pastor Craig Groeschel posted his Fight Devotional on, a site called Bible.com. There are a lot of tempting options for where to go next. One was Rachel Cruze, the daughter of Dave Ramsey (whom I LOVE) with a Bible study on her new book “Love Your Life, Not Theirs,” which I’ve been anxious to read for some time.

There was another called “Apologetic 101: A Survey of Christian Apologetics” by Jeff Myers.

One of the times I made an attempt at the Christian life, the early 2000’s, I studied apologetics which is the discipline of defending the Christian faith. I used to listen to James R. White and follow the work of R.C. Sproul and heard their expositions on doctrines of the Christian faith, and the threats it faces.

There is nothing wrong with apologetics. In fact, 1 Peter 3:15 states, “but in your hearts honor Christ the Lord as holy, always being prepared to make a defense to anyone who asks you for a reason for the hope that is in you; yet do it with gentleness and respect.” I will probably write about some apologetics issues down the road in this blog. And by down the road, I probably mean years.

There were two problems with my approach to apologetics:

  1. Frankly, I got too fancy too. The time I spent hairsplitting theology was frankly like ordering  Coq Au Vin when all I needed was a ham sandwich. The timing was all wrong. I could have better spend my time investigating prayer, studying God’s purpose, and other basic foundations of my faith.
  2. I’m not even sure what Coq Au Vin is. Much like I was not sure what apologetics was. I just wanted to sound fancy. It was all part of my need to impress, be looked upon and adored rather than actually studying the basics of the faith.

I would love to impress you all with my exegesis on the Holy Trinity or transubstantiation. It would really stroke my ego to regale you with my really deep thoughts about Calvinism vs. Arminianism or John Owens’ “The Death of Death in the Death of Christ.”

But I am not ready for any of that. Who would get the glory if I did that? It wouldn’t be God since I would be talking about concepts related to Him for my sake rather than talk about Him for His sake.

This time I am determined to give Him glory rather than myself. I want an actual relationship with Jesus for His sake rather than for mine.

While I am sure that Mr. Myers wrote a great study that would very much be worth my time, I am far more interested in building a solid foundation for my house of faith to rest on at this time before I get into deeper waters.

I’m not good about prayer because I am not exactly sure how best to pray. And while I get the overall concept of JI want to study the very basics of my faith and how it applies to my life as a Christian. I want to better understand God’s purpose as He stated in the Bible. I want to serve Him rather than use Him as a means of advancing myself.

I have decided to go with the study “Beginning a Relationship with Jesus, ” a seven-day devotional by David Dwight and Nicole Uncie, which is based on their book “Start Here: Beginning a Relationship with Jesus.”

The motto this time is “nothing fancy.”

