In today’s fight devotional by Pastor Craig Groeschel, hit on one of the biggest struggles that I have- trying to do everything myself and trying to take all of the glory for myself.

Oftentimes in doing that I would feel like the weight of the world was on my shoulders. Part of the problem I had when I was on the throne of my own life was that I placed myself in a condition where, as Pastor Craig said, you feel like you are the glue that is holding everyone’s life together. Not only that, I would not share the burdens I carried around with people until I was on the verge of absolute collapse.

“We may not say it out loud, but what our actions are communicating to others is: ‘I’m not letting you in. I won’t share what’s going on with me. Besides, even if I tried, you wouldn’t understand.’ That’s why we refuse to ask for directions! We don’t want to have to tell anyone we need help! I’m convinced the reason we do this is that most of us want to be the hero, the main character, the center of the story that we’re telling about ourselves. We want to make everything about us…instead of about God.”

As the Lord gently communicated to my soul a couple of weeks back: “You’re not God.”

The verses in today’s devotional reading spoke to my soul:

“And my God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus,” -Philippians 4:19.

“But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you,” -Matthew 6:33″

“casting all your anxieties on him, because he cares for you,” -1 Peter 5:7.

These verses are a relief to me. Especially today, which finds me in disagreement with someone from my personal life. Honestly, as I type this right now I am not happy at all. Usually, what I would do is sit here in the chair where I type these blogs and get steamed, feel sorry for myself, and think of ways to obstruct and get back at this person or that person. The more I that I thought about it, the angrier I’d get and that would result in most of the day being ruined.

But I’m not God and I can’t control what other people do. Since the Lord Jesus has taken His rightful place on the throne of my life, and since His Scriptures tell me He wishes to hear of my anxieties because He cares for me, I will tell Him about them. Then I will let Him sort out the details, even if that means me being the person in the wrong in this situation.

And, dear reader, if you wish to pray for your faithful blogger here, I certainly would love and appreciate that.

 

 

