I was seated at the kitchen table with my Bible yesterday. My son was next to me working on long division problems for homework. Being a fan on rogue psychologist John Rosemond, I usually take the policy of not hovering over him to do his homework because it is his responsibility. Yesterday, however, his math teacher sent an email stating that the class as a whole was having a tougher than normal time with this new concept so I decided to be a little closer to him this time to see if he needed me.

While he was doing that, I was reading Romans 5. As I wrote about before, Romans is my favorite epistle of the Apostle Paul. Chapter 5 is one of the main reasons why. I could highlight every verse in it. Many of the previous blogs that I wrote before were confessional. Maybe it was more than you wanted to know about me. Maybe it was more than I wanted to tell. It was important for me to establish to you that this was a blog about a spiritual journey, not the writings of someone who was an evangelist, or an expert, or (least of all) holier than you.

No, if there is anyone who needed Jesus it’s me.

And Romans 5 caused me to shed tears of joy because Paul gloriously writes that He is mine.

“Therefore, since we have been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ.  Through him we have also obtained access by faith into this grace in which we stand, and we rejoice in hope of the glory of God.” (Romans 5:1-2)

The “hope and glory of God” that Paul writes about was not something I rejoiced in before, not even in my previous attempts at a Christian life. It’s only after laying down my pride and abdicated the throne of my life to Him that I could even begin to see what the hope and glory of God even was, let alone rejoice in it. 

“For while we were still weak, at the right time Christ died for the ungodly. For one will scarcely die for a righteous person—though perhaps for a good person one would dare even to die— but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. Since, therefore, we have now been justified by his blood, much more shall we be saved by him from the wrath of God. For if while we were enemies we were reconciled to God by the death of his Son, much more, now that we are reconciled, shall we be saved by his life. More than that, we also rejoice in God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have now received reconciliation.” (Romans 5:6-11)

Reconciliation. Thank God. Not just that reconciliation with God was even possible after all I’ve done but that it was already given by God by His sons’ death, burial, and resurrection. Through that, He declared me righteous in His eyes.

It’s something I heard I’ve countless times but only recently has it made maximum impact in my life. And at that kitchen table. I had a few moments of true reverence and worship toward the one who forgave me and brought me to life.

Today as I type this here in northeast Iowa, you can feel Spring in the air as the highs will be in the upper 50’s and early 60’s in mid-February. To me, it’s a physical manifestation of my spiritual renewal that my Lord Jesus is granting me. After all these years of my stubbornness, I have reconciliation from him. I feel His love renewing me.

Thank you, Jesus.

